Tennessee Supreme Court Rule 7 includes provisions for applicants licensed in another U.S. jurisdiction to practice under certain conditions upon submission of an Application to Tennessee for Admission by Examination, Re-Examination, UBE Score Transfer, Without Examination or for Registration as the Spouse of a Military Servicemember.
The purpose of these provisions is to permit attorneys who are licensed and in good standing in another jurisdiction and who have a pending application for admission in Tennessee to practice during the pendency of the application. Attorneys who plan to relocate to Tennessee to practice law should begin the application process prior to the move to Tennessee as completion of the application and the background investigation take time. Practice Pending Admission requires filing of an application for admission and is only valid for up to one year.
TENN. SUP. CT. R. 7 SEC. 10.07 – PRACTICE PENDING ADMISSION
Attorneys holding an active license to practice law and in good standing in another jurisdiction in the United States, District of Columbia or a U.S. Territory who:
- Have submitted an application for admission without examination or as spouse of a military servicemember (see Note 1); and
- Move to Tennessee and begin employment or open an office prior to approval for licensing and admission to the bar of Tennessee
may provide legal services in this jurisdiction during the pendency of the application for admission but for no more than 365 days under certain circumstances. Please see Rule 7, Section 10.07 and Policy P-5.01 for complete details.
HOW TO REGISTER FOR PRACTICE PENDING ADMISSION
The Application to Register for Practice Pending Admission can be found in the forms at the bottom of this page. Submit the completed form and the $40 fee by check or money order (see Note 2) via U.S. mail to: Tennessee Board of Law Examiners, 511 Union Street, Suite 525, Nashville, TN, 37219.
Applicants who change jobs or supervisors must submit an application to re-register 10.07 and pay the fee (see Note 2) of $25. The form can be found at the bottom of this page.
1 See Policy P-5.01 and P-10.07 for Application and Registration requirements.
2 Payment by credit card is not available for the registration fee. Please be sure to clearly mark your name and NCBE number on the check or money order; you may pay in cash in person.